u/barefootliam

590 post karma · 438 comment karma · joined May 2007 · moderator

  1. 14points

    GIMP interview series: Liam Quin (i.redd.it)

    3 comments · source

  2. 138points

    GIMP 3.2.6 Released (self.GIMP) [pinned]

    50 comments

  3. 1points

    Higher end laptop request - numeric keypad & 3 buttons (self.SuggestALaptop) [Laptop Request Ca]

    6 comments

barefootliam

Thanks for replying in more detail. When i said it wasn't true, i meant, that GIMP development was by programmers who did not use GIMP professionally to do art. Now, we do have professional artists on board.

We know we still have a long way to go.

The brush chooser does have a dark background in the very latest version though. Or will in the next release (i’m using the development version so i don’t always remember what’s been released yet).

Save As certainly can’t save as JPEG. It used to, and people lost data, not understanding that they would lose all the layers for example. Lots of other programs have a project file format.

It doesn’t please us that you have to leatn a new shortcut, no. It’s not about ‘correctness” either. If it was, you wouldn’t be able to “open’ a JPEG file either, you’d have to import it. Which in fact i argued for at the time because it would make the metaphor clearer: GIMP is actually an XCF editor. But it would be too different, too disruptive.

barefootliam

There’s been a lot of work on the GIMP font internals over the past 3 years, and you will likely see some of those improvements soon (if not this next release the one after, i hope). One of the blockers for a while was a deprecated widget in the gtk toolkit - it’s been giving Inkscape developers headaches too!

barefootliam

Although i can’t say you don’t have that perception, i _can_ tell you it isn’t true :-) It _was_ true 30 years ago.

barefootliam

I don’t know about “locked up” (well, GIMP being locked up might be a film reference but i don’t gt that feeling from your comment) - if there’s no bug report and it doesn’t happen for us and doesn’t happen in user testing it’s hard to know it might be happening to someone, let alone fix it. We welcome specific, concrete suggestions about improvement, and also reports saying exactly what you were doing when it locked up and what that means exactly (and whether you’re on Linux, Mac, Windows, which version and how long you waited, etc).

barefootliam

Please, bug reports go in gitlab (not github!) so developers see them.

Check whether you have plug-ins that might be slow to initialize (e.g. i had one that talked to AI and slowed GIMP startup down while it registered on the network). Network drives can do that too. Otherwise i'm not sure, but please do feel free to report it.

barefootliam

well, the skins for the cars are 2d images that the game wraps round the model, and they have to fit the game's template.

if you look closely at the purple you can see matching purple - i've outlined the area in orange at lower right, the two purple areas are from one GIMP layer that starts rectangular. Or that is what i understand.

https://preview.redd.it/ucw7a048m4uh1.png?width=1047&format=png&auto=webp&s=44be281683fc3c55f43daf528fa2a0eeecb2adba

barefootliam

Thanks! Llast time i looked they did not have 3 hardware physical mouse/trackpad buttons, and i didn’t find a way to configure that.

barefootliam

guides are straight lines; here the purple layer is to be split, one part curved, the other straight.

barefootliam

Darn, i should have been wearing a pointy hat!

barefootliam

Note, the xcf format is not proprietary - it’s open and documented and anyone can use it, which is how other software can read and/or write xcf files.

Exporting is not the same as saving because it (in general) can lose image data such as layers, layer masks, non-destructive filters, the active selection... which are all saved in xcf.

An alternative might be that we could warn the user each time they saved as jpeg (say) -

Some data will not be exported: the image will be flattened, including text layers, and all transparency will be lost. Proceed anyway?, but that’s asking every time you export, which would be much more irritating for people who export the same image multiple times (which i do for one) and only close the image once.

I’ve also seen editors that can only open a project file in their own format, and you have to import images - video editors tend to be like this - which is going one step further.

barefootliam

Many printers enforce margins, especially laser printers but also dye sublimation and even some inkjets by default.

There may be a setting in the printer driver to ignore printer margins - this depends on your operating system, e.g. Windows or Linux or Mac - and possibly also the printer driver.

If you don’t see a setting like that, and the print options don’t mention margins, start by printing a 3 inch square in the middle of the page - so, an entire image 900 pixels on a side.

If that comes out the right size, make your image in GIMP smaller - you can go to the Image menu and use Crop to Content, or use the crop tool - chop off any blank edges, and see if that works. Often it does.

barefootliam

Is this on MacOS? How did you install GIMP exactly? You may need to let it sit for a while the first time you run it, to let it build its font database.

barefootliam

The python port was for scripting; GIMP itself is written in C.

barefootliam

Looks like this is on a Mac. Some things to try -

Press the tab key and see if everything comes back

Open GIMP without any image loaded and see what it looks like. If it looks OK, then try making a new image.

barefootliam

Did you check to see whether anyone reported it? Doesn’t seen slow here, so please give clear step-by-step instructions to make it go wrong in your bug report, or add them to the existing report if there is one.

Remember also that GIMP is programmed by volunteers, so it might be that none of the volunteers noticed the bug report.

barefootliam

Although i am not sure exactly which VirusTotal link you followed, i tried the Win32 one and got no errors. “Undetected” sounds like no problem was detected. As long as you download from gimp.org (or the MS store) things should be fine. Often the virus checkers flag some file or other by mistake.

barefootliam

Thanks for pointing it out - the post has been removed.

barefootliam

(1) make sure to scan at high enough resolution (i use 2400dpi for vintage engravings on fromoldbooks.org, usually at 15 bit per channel greyscale, but the detail is a little finer)

(2) filters→distorts→value propagate, set to More Black (smaller value), lower threshold 0, upper 1, propragating rate 0.37 or so

This will "grow" the lines

(3) colours→curves, drag the bottom left corner of the diagonal line right one square and the top right corner left one square or very slightly more and OK.

(4) remove stray pixels: use the eraser somewhere that should be solid white: press E (shift-e) to get eraser, press d for default black/white colours, press } as needed until the brush is quite large, or use brush size in tool options (if it's greyed out, make a new brush). Or, use rectangle select (r) and drag out a region and press d for default colours, then the delete key. If this makes a checkerboard, image→flatten image.

Either way, now you have a solid white area. Save a copy.

Now use select By Colour (O, i.e. shift-o) and in tool options set the threshold low, e.g. 5. Click in your white area.

Now, after some time, there are marching ants everywhere. Try Select⇒Grow and 2px, then Select⇒Shrink by 1px, then press delete, then control-shift-a (Select⇒none). This has removed isolated dots up to 4 pixels wide. Check it has not damaged the fragile text. If it did, use undo multiple times, then Select⇒Grow by only 1 pixel, then select⇒shrink by 1 pixel, and delete, and select none, and see if that worked.

(5) The dodge tool can be set to burn mode in tool options, and to darken shadows, or to dodge mode, and to lighten highlights, and both of these can be very helpful. However, approaches that affect the whole image are usually best done first where possible, as they are faster!

(6) You can duplicate the layer and try setting the upper one’s layer mode (in Layers) to Screen

(7) Filters⇒Enhance⇒Sharpen (unsharp mask) can be useful. Move the upper slider just left of where the image starts to change, then move the lower slider to the right.

barefootliam

The problem i am having with rare(ish) books is that ebay eats up about a quarter of the price. That and there’s usually a rush of views on the fist day and then nothing, but i suspect that’s true everywhere.

barefootliam

Here in Canada ebay fees work out at between 17½% and 25% of the sale price, ebay also charges a fee and tax on shipping, and then the money you get is taxable and ebay reports it to CRA (the Canadian IRS). If you then go through paypal there's papal fees too, but these days you can have eBay connect to your bank directly instead. Facebook marketplace and kijiji don’t charge for listings or sales, but they also don’t do as much and searching is not so easy, so people don’t really look for specific books there as much i think. There’s also abebooks and biblio, with slightly lower fees.

barefootliam

Thanks! I’m concerned the series has a max of 32G of RAM, but it does seem to have 3 mouse buttons. Did you find one with 64G?? Their E series page says 1TB SSD and 32G is max. Or was this a chat-gpt reply? :-)

barefootliam

although there’s no fixed limit, i’ll feel guilty if it’s over $5K i think.